June 2, 2024
Greetings Members and Friends of UUCSW,

We are delighted to share with you that the Rev. Misty-Dawn Shelly will join us on September 1, 2024 as our next, full-time, contract minister! We are grateful to the Search Committee for enthusiastically committing, on short notice, so much energy to their task: Stephanie Doyle, David King (Board representative), Colleen Munson (advisory as DRE and Administrator), Noah Nourse (Youth representative), Janet Purney-Balabanis, Nancy Siegal (Board representative), and Jane Walsh who chaired. And we are also grateful to Board members David King and Ellen Rutter for negotiating the details of the contract.

A graduate of Andover Newton Theological School, Rev. Misty-Dawn Shelly was ordained in 2011 by her home church in Brimfield, MA and First Parish in Northborough, MA where she had interned. She served as settled minister from 2012 – 2022 in Fort Wayne, Indiana, before returning to Massachusetts in 2022. Since then, Misty-Dawn has served the federated congregation of First Parish Church, Berlin, MA as a three-quarter contract minister.

The Search Committee and the Board of Trustees believe Misty-Dawn aligns well with UUCSW at this time. We believe she will partner with us in shared ministry and covenant by showing up as the warm, open-minded, positive, affirming, fun-seeking minister she is known to be. She will bring several years of experience with church budgets, supporting people in joyful times and sad, serving multi-generational communities, cultivating equity and inclusion, and being head of staff. Her call to ministry includes providing the tools to understand and deepen our spiritual journeys while building the beloved community.

Misty-Dawn enjoys gardening, walking, yoga, the occasional hike in the woods, and needle work (knitting, crochet, embroidery). She lives in Worcester, MA with her family which includes her wife and Misty-Dawn’s mother.Stay tuned for some late summer “Meet and Greets”!

Respectfully submitted -Your Board of TrusteesEllen Rutter, Co-chair and Nancy Siegal, Co-chairVince Aquilino, David King, David LambertMinisterial

Search Committee
Stephanie Doyle, Janet Purney-Balabanis and Jane Walsh (Chair)David King (Board representative), Colleen Munson (advisory as DRE and Administrator), Noah Nourse (Youth representative), Nancy Siegal (Board representative)